Spring walks in large and small villages of Russia.
The village with the loud name "Great" is one of the largest in the Upper Volga region. Until the beginning of the 18th century, it was the royal estate, and in 1709, Emperor Peter the Great presented the village to his friend and associate, Field Marshal Anikita Ivanovich Repnin, for the victory near Poltava.
It was Prince Repnin who laid the foundation of 300 years ago the largest of the four Velikoselsky churches - the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin. The main decoration of the village is an architectural ensemble, consisting of two churches of the beginning of the 18th century, the Nativity of the Virgin, the Protection of the Virgin and the bell tower between them. The pearl of the village is the estate of the merchant Lokalov, whose main mansion is built in the pseudo-Russian style, decorated with turrets, weathercocks and surrounded by a magnificent wrought-iron fence.
The village "Velikoye" (It means in Russian like "Great") is located in the southeastern part of the Yaroslavl region. There are two large natural reservoirs in the village "Velikoye", called Black Ponds and White Ponds. In 1985, Black Pond, by decision of the Regional Council of People's Deputies, was recognized as a natural monument.
There is a version about the origin of the name of the Black Pond. One of them: Previously, forges were located on the banks of the pond. All the soot from work went into the pond, so the water in it was dark, therefore it was called Black by the color of the water.
The village "Velikoye" is located halfway between Yaroslavl and Rostov. An ancient country road ran through it. Another lane from the village fled to Suzdal.
The village has more than once been the haven of Russian tsars. In October 1613 On the way from Kostroma to Moscow to the royal throne, "they made three days in the village "Velikoye" Mikhail Romanov. Peter the Great did stop several times during in the village via his trips from Moscow to Arkhangelsk. The Tsar probably remembered this rich palace settlement. In any case, deciding to reward the participants of the Battle of Poltava. It was Peter the Great who bestowed on his associate Field Marshal Prince A.I. Repnin in personal possession. This was mentioned by the most famous Russian writer Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin in the poem "Poltava".
At the behest of Anikita Ivanovich Repin in the village erected the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin (1712) - a monument to the deliverance of Russia from foreigners. A church with a Moscow scale was set up. The five-headed ones are not typical, not centered, but shifted east. So only construction temples were built. The church’s foursome is over thirteen meters high. Such a quadruple is not in Yaroslavl churches. To match Moscow and the dome. The diameter of the drum under the central dome is five and a half meters.
The village from time immemorial - the first mention of it dates back to the XIII century - is called the Great. Why is it called that? There is no single answer to this question. Some authors suggest that the Novgorod settlers in the name of the village emphasized their connection with Mr. Veliky Novgorod. Others argue that the village was so called because it was larger than the neighboring villages and villages.
The word "great" in Old Russian meant "big."
The Great played a prominent role in the life of the Yaroslavl Territory. It is enough to say that already in 1607. The village was entered on the geographical map of the Russian state as a large shopping center. Here were the management of the palace Rostov estates moving palace hut.
Finally, the village was formed at the end of the XIX century. Around the "Kremlin" and the main reservoir - the Black Pond (there are also Red and White Ponds) stood five central posad, four Zaprudny and three Sloboda.
The central part of the Great Cathedral Square, paved with cobblestones, had paved sidewalks and passages.
The Great acquired a finished look, preserved to this day, and looked like a decent county town.
We arrived in this village in the first days of May. We examined everything around and got a lot of pleasure from the views of the Black Pond and the village.