The popular name of this church is the Simeon Church, by the way, it's written on the map of St. Petersburg.
The Church of Simeon and Anna (the official name is the Church of Saints and Righteous Simeon Bogopirytsa and Anna Prophetchitsa) is an active Orthodox church located at the Belinsky Bridge and is clearly visible from the Fontanka embankment. It is an architectural monument and one of the oldest temples of St. Petersburg.
The church was built at the behest of Empress Anna Ioannovna in the period from 1731 to 1734 by the architect Zemtsov in the Petrine Baroque style using elements of ancient Russian architecture. Previously, this place was the dilapidated wooden church of the Archangel Michael. Once, both the bridge and the street Belinskogo were called Simeon.
Impressive steeple of a stone church with a 47-meter bell tower, which was executed by the Dutch master van Boles.
In the Soviet era (1938), the church was closed, its property and decorations were looted, and the room was adapted for storage. But in the 50's it was restored, and later (in 1980) there was a meteorological museum, Finally, in 1991 the church was returned to the believers. At church there is a farmstead, which is riddled behind a green and iron fence. The church is surrounded by houses, almost closely adjacent to it.
From 1996 to 2013, a large-scale restoration of the building was carried out. The restored church was consecrated by Patriarch Cyril.